

COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY TRANSPORTATION CABINET transportation.ky.gov

Andy Beshear Governor

Jim Gray Secretary

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Media Contact: Naitore Djigbenou 502.782.4829 <u>naitore.djigbenou@ky.gov</u>

> Media Contact: Chuck Wolfe 502.892.9038 <u>chuck.wolfe@ky.gov</u>

Gov. Andy Beshear Announces \$11.5 Million in Federal Funding to Help 10 Rural Kentucky Transit Agencies Modernize Fleets, Make Other Upgrades Agencies serve 46 counties across the commonwealth

FRANKFORT, Ky. (June 29, 2023) – Gov. Andy Beshear, a strong supporter of public transit as a transportation lifeline for thousands of Kentuckians, today announced that 10 rural Kentucky transit agencies have been approved for more than \$11.5 million in Federal Transit Administration funding.

The agencies, which collectively serve 46 Kentucky counties, spanning the commonwealth, will use the funding to modernize their bus and wheelchair van fleets and make other essential upgrades to facilities and equipment.

"Kentuckians deserve reliable and accessible buses and vans to get to and from work, school, church and more – and those opportunities should be available to every single community," Gov. Beshear said. "This funding will help more rural agencies better serve the families who live there, creating a better quality of life for people aross the commonwealth."

The federal funding, to which Gov. Beshear's administration is adding \$2.9 million for a total of \$14.4 million, will be used to purchase 42 transit vehicles, 12 of which will replace older vehicles. The other 30 vehicles represent expansions of service. Funding also will be used to build, repair or expand seven transit facilities and purchase transit equipment such as generators, laptops and software.

The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet's (KYTC) Office of Transportation Delivery administers the federal funding.

"These new buses, vans, equipment and upgraded facilities will improve safety, service and reliability, and at the same time cut maintenance costs for the local transit agencies," said KYTC Secretary Jim Gray.

The transit agencies and counties they serve are:

Blue Grass Community Action Partnership Inc. – Anderson, Boyle, Casey, Franklin, Garrard, Lincoln, Jessamine, Mercer, Scott, Washington and Woodford counties.

City of Maysville/Maysville Transit System – Mason County.

Daniel Boone Community Action Agency Inc. – Clay, Jackson, Lee, Owsley and Wolfe counties.

Harlan County Community Action Agency Inc. – Harlan County.

LKLP Community Action Council Inc. – Knott, Leslie, Letcher and Perry counties.

Licking Valley Community Action Program – Bracken, Fleming, Lewis, Mason and Robertson counties.

Murray County Transit Authority – Calloway County.

Paducah Transit Authority – Ballard, Graves, Marshall and McCracken counties.

Pennyrile Allied Community Services Inc. – Caldwell, Christian, Crittenden, Hopkins, Livingston, Logan, Lyon, Muhlenberg, Todd and Trigg counties.

Sandy Valley Transportation Services Inc. – Floyd, Johnson, Magoffin, Martin and Pike counties.

A breakdown of each agency's funding request is available <u>here</u>.

###

